New Chapters

Sometimes God asks us to close certain chapters of our lives. It can be painful to let go and move on, but it’s also exciting to see what the next chapter holds.

This summer marks the end of the biggest chapter in my life so far…

I put on my first pair of ballet shoes when I was three years old and immediately fell in love with it. Ever since then, I’ve thought that I would dance for as long as my body would let me, and after my performing days were over I’d teach ballet and maybe run my own dance company.

163040_1638457836076_5094557_n

Ballet has always been how I identified myself.

“Hi, I’m Sarah. I’m a dancer.”

A year ago I couldn’t even imagine ballet not being a part of my life. Not being a dancer would have practically been like changing my name.

IMG_3274

But here I am. I’m putting dance behind me and saying “yes” to the plans that the Lord has for my future. And surprisingly, closing this chapter of my life hasn’t been painful as I would have imagined. Gradually I am being redefined. Instead of “Sarah the dancer,” He is giving me a new (and far better) identity. He tells me that I am His child, I am loved, I am free, I have been made new, I am righteous, I am an heir of His kingdom, I am a temple of the Holy Spirit, I am His workmanship, I am a citizen of heaven, I am His vessel, I am a conquerer, and I am the light of the world.

Um…who needs ballet?? Is that not enough??

It’s more than enough for me. He has taken away my passion for dance and replaced it with a passion for Him. I’m exploring other things that I enjoy, like fitness and blogging. I’m enjoying school, I have a new job that I love, and I finally have time to invest in my friends and family.

So moral of the story? Don’t be afraid to surrender yourself to God’s plan. I know it’s scary to venture out into the great unknown, but His plan is so much better than anything we could come up with ourselves. Allow God to define you. Follow His lead. And don’t be afraid of new chapters.

“There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens…He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.”

(Ecclesiastes 3:1&11)

One thought on “New Chapters

  1. I love this entry, because it suits me perfectly as well. This summer I gave up on figure Skating and – like you – it has always defined me. I’ve always been Katharina, the figure skater, I’ve always been busy with training, always somewhere for competitions, test skates and so on. I had barely time for friends and everything was scheduled around Skating, even our family holidays. And now I’m finally free. I feel so much better now, like a completely new person. Sure, I do miss skating, but less than I would have expected.

    You are an amazing, strong person. I started following you IG a few month ago and your thoughful and faithful posts inspire me and cheer me up. Please keep being that amazing :)))

Leave a Reply

