Sit.

There are 24 hours in a day.

60 minutes in an hour.

That’s one thousand, four-hundred and forty minutes. And sometimes I get way too caught up in trying to squeeze as much activity into those minutes as possible.

Do. Move. Make. Plan. Repeat.

This week has been a whirlwind. Sure, I’ve accomplished a lot. I attended a scholarship competition. I spent the day in Dahlonega with friends. I worked twenty hours, took two tests, and managed to hit the gym a few times. I went to church. I went to prayer night. I made progress in planning an upcoming ministry event. And tonight I’m hosting a party at my house for my middle-school girls small group.

Looking back, it’s been a productive week. But it’s left me dizzy and breathless.

I kept saying yes. I kept doing more. And in all the doing and the moving and the busyness I forgot to feed my soul. I forgot that a cup can only pour out for so long before it is left empty and dry. And it wasn’t until I completely dried up that I realized the importance of slowing down and taking time to allow the Lord to fill up my cup.

Like Martha I’ve been distracted. I’ve been doing “good” things, but I’ve been missing out on the best thing of all: sitting at the feet of Jesus. There’s no point in serving unless you know the One you serve, or in leading unless you know the One you lead people to. And the only way to know Him, is to spend time with Him. To sit at His feet and hear His voice. To read His word. To ask Him questions and listen to His answers.

This morning I did something I haven’t done all week: I sat without thinking or planning or worrying about all the things I need to do. I just sat and let the Lord fill my cup. I read the Word, journaled, sipped my coffee and let Him speak to me.

My mentor told me this; Be brave to put Him first.

It’s easy to believe that if we take time away from our schedules things will fall apart. But the truth is that there is great reward to be found in sitting quietly at His feet and trusting that if we put Him first, everything else will fall into place. Schedules will change, deadlines will come and go, and this season of life will pass. But time spent with Jesus is eternal.

2 thoughts on “Sit.

  1. Hi there! You’ve been nominated for the Shinning Star Award. Refer to my latest post for more details. 🙂

Leave a Reply

