To Whom it May Concern

Hello beautiful.

I know what you’re going through. I know how hard it was to get out of bed this morning and face the day. I know how loud the voices are and how unbearable the anxiety is when you don’t obey them. I know you want to fight, but it’s so much easier to lie in surrender. I know what it’s like to feel hopeless, worthless, defeated. But I have to tell you something. 

You don’t have to live like this. 

You don’t have to let the number on the scale control you. You don’t have to feel guilty about nourishing your body. You don’t have to isolate yourself because you’re afraid to let the world see you. You don’t have to hide your body behind those baggy clothes. You don’t have to throw up everything you eat. You don’t have to look in the mirror every day and hate what you see.

Recovery is possible. Freedom from your eating disorder is possible. 

I know the face of anorexia all too well, but I also know what it’s like to live a free life. And you can too.

Recovery is not easy, but it’s worth it. Every meal you eat is a victory. Every pound you gain is another battle won. Every day you ignore the voices in your head is another step towards total freedom.

This is a fight for your life, so put on your boxing gloves and get ready. You’re going to fall, but you can stand back up. You’re going to take some blows, but you will be okay. You’re going to feel weak, but you’re stronger than you believe. You’re going to be afraid, but you’re braver than you think.

You are worth more than anything this eating disorder has to offer. You are a living, breathing, feeling, human being, and you were created for so much more than this. You are a child of God. He calls you beautiful, righteous, blessed, pure, worthy, lovely, wonderful. Start making decisions based on who you truly are, not who the eating disorder tells you that you are.

Chin up, my dear. You can do this. I promise you won’t regret it.

Love,

Sarah Elaine

13 thoughts on “To Whom it May Concern

  1. this is a wonderful post – i struggle with wishing – wanting – to have one day in my life where i do not think about my body or eating. to experience a complete freedom would be heaven – but i haven’t – not since i was 4 years old and now i am 49. to look in the mirror and not hate what i see, not constantly analyze it and allow it the power to influence my mind and my decisions. i know on so many levels that what i perceive is in my head and my head alone – but i have never – cannot break thru this way of thinking. i am afraid the only way i will ever achieve any semblance of peace is when i no longer exist on this planet.

    1. Hi words4jp,
      I wanted to reply for your comment to let you know that i will be praying for you. I will pray that Jesus will set you free and change your mind so that you can see yourself as He sees you… beautiful, righteous, blessed and pure.
      In Christ,
      Tori

    2. I am so sorry to hear that you have been struggling for so many years. I do believe that no matter how long it’s been, no matter what your story is, recovery is still possible. Jesus is greater and able to overcome anything we face. Keep fighting. I am praying for you.

  2. Amen, amen, amen.
    This is so beautifully written and it’s the absolute truth. Recover is hard– really f***ing hard. But it’s possible and it’s worth it. Nothing in the world compares with finding freedom from the obsession and hopelessness.
    For me, it was a matter of getting completely fed-up and deciding that I wanted happiness for myself– no one else. And realizing that I didn’t want to look back on my life and see a whole bunch of “perfection” and no real life.

    Love this and I love your blog.
    xo

  3. this is so beautiful ❤ i just wrote a declaration of independence from my eating disorder haha it felt kinda weird but it was pretty liberating and i think a necessary step in my recovery. did you ever do something like that? also did you read the book "life without ed" or any other recovery books??

Leave a Reply

