40 Days

In 40 days I’ll be unpacking my bags and settling in to my new home at Berry College!

40 days until I am an official Berry student and I begin the “DCL life” through the WinShape College Program!

I am beyond excited for August 20th to come, but I’m trying to remember that there is still work and preparation to be done physically, mentally, and spiritually before I start this new chapter in my life. I don’t want to be so caught up in the future that I forget about the here and now. I want to learn as much as I can, grow as much as I can, and soak up the time that I have with my family and friends.

I feel like a lot of growth has taken place in the weeks since my last post. I’ve changed up my routine with eating and with life in general. I’ve had some fun new experiences, tried new things, and made new friends. I’ve identified and broken some “food rules” that I didn’t even know I was abiding by. I’ve gained some necessary weight and I’m getting stronger in the gym.

Over all, I think I’m starting to better understand the mind-body-spirit connection, which is what recovery is all about. I’ve realized that the seemingly small lies that I believe in my head infect my spirit and affect me physically.

It’s amazing how much can happen when you become vulnerable and give God room to work.

So there’s a little glimpse into what I’ve been learning over the past few weeks! But it doesn’t stop there. I definitely don’t expect to have it all figured out before I leave for school, and I don’t expect or desire for recovery and healing automatically end on August 20th. But I want to seize every moment that I have and allow the Lord to heal the things that I refused to acknowledge were broken over the past year. I’m no longer going to insist on a period where there should be a comma!

On another note, WinShape’s week-long orientation was a blast. I had so much fun getting to know the other 32 incoming students in the program, who I will be living with and doing life with for the next 4 years!

The stunning Berry campus!
The stunning Berry campus!

IMG_8693

IMG_8777

IMG_8776
My beautiful roommate!

IMG_8692

IMG_8751IMG_8758

So here’s to the next 40 days! May they be full of excitement for what’s ahead and enthusiasm for what’s at hand.

Leave a Reply

