to my middle-schoolers

Daughters of the King:

There are so many words on my heart, so many things that I want each and every one of you to take away from the time we’ve spent together. I know things have been a bit scattered, a bit confusing, and a bit overwhelming at times (ehem, kid’s camp) as we began this thing called Echo; but the past eight months have been such a blessing to me, and I hope to you as well, as Jesus has worked and taught and healed and grown all of us.

It’s not like I’m moving to Africa never to be heard from again. I’m just moving an hour and a half away to go to school. However, this is our last small group time together and I wanted to leave you with a few thoughts that I believe God has put on my heart for you all. So here we go.

  • First of all, more than anything else, above any other advice or wisdom, I just want you to realize the goodness of our God. I want you to fall deeply in love with the One who not only created you, but pulled you out of darkness and pursues you daily. He is the perfect father, the perfect friend. He will be your rock and your fortress. He will protect you and comfort you. The most important thing you can do right now and forever is get to know Him. Open up your Bible and read even if you don’t always understand it. Pray. Share your heart with God because He knows you better than you know yourself. Listen for His voice, because He longs to speak to you. Just like any other relationship, intimacy takes time and effort, and intimacy with God is worth more than gold. Get to know Him, He wants to show you who He is.
  • Secondly, I want you to know who you are. When I look at each of you, I don’t see awkward middle-schoolers who love frappucinos and The Hunger Games. I see royalty. I see warriors. I see beauty and strength and potential. I see all that you can and will be, if only you will see it too. I want you to know, not just in your head but in your heart, that you. are. worthy. You are worthy of love and respect. You are worthy of infinitely more than the lies that the world will throw at you. Be confident, for you are beautiful, intelligent, funny, kind, loving, wonderful young women made in the image of God. Embrace who you are as an individual, unique and set apart, confident in the fact that He has great plans in store for you.
  • Next, I want to tell you to dream big and say yes. Extinguishing a fear of failure now will set you years ahead. Try new things, be adventurous, and step out in faith. Whether it’s a travel opportunity or a new sport or a business idea, never turn down a chance to make yourself a more interesting person. Of course, I’m not telling you to be reckless. Common sense is a beautiful thing. But in the words of Mark Twain, “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
  • Lastly, I want you to know that I’m here for you. Life is hard, and middle-school and high-school are not easy times. Girls are mean and boys are dumb (sometimes). You’re going to face some trials and challenges, and when you do, please know that I’m here. However big or small it is, I care. So give me call, shoot me a text, ask for prayer, let me know what’s going on in your life. I love you all so very much, and I’m here for you whenever you need me.

There are so many more things that I could say to you, but that’s all for now. Thank you for letting me be a part of your lives. I’m honored to call each one of you a friend, and I can’t wait to see what things the Lord has in store for you.

Lots of love,

Sarah

One thought on “to my middle-schoolers

  1. I blog quite often and I seriously thank you for your information. Your
    article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to book mark your site and keep checking for new information about once a
    week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

Leave a Reply

